The Grand Palace
The Grand Palace, or Phra Borom Maha Ratchawang as it is know to Thais, is today used only by the king only for certain ceremonial occasions such as Coronation Day and is closed to the public The exterior of the flour building are worth a swift perusal, however, for there royal bombast.
Borombiman Hall : A French inspired structure that served as a residence for King Rama VI,. It is occasionally used to house visiting foreign dignitaries.
Amarindra Hall : Originally a hall of justice, and is now used for coronation ceremonies.
Chakri Mahaprasat : The largest triple-winged of the palace buildings, literally named Great Holy Hall of Chakri, but usually translated as Grand Palace Hall. Built in 1882 by British architects using Thai labour, the exterior shows a peculiar blend of Italian renaissance and traditional Thai architecture. Each wing is topped by Mondop, a layered and heavily ornamented spire representing a Thai adaptation of the Hindu Mandapa, or shrine. The tallest of the Mondops, in the centre, contains the ashes of each Chakri King who passed away. The flanking Mondops enshrine the ashes of Chakri princes who never inherited the throne.
Wiman Mek Palace
Wiman Mak Palace, the Palace in the Clouds, is a three storey mansion originally built in 1868 as a summer house on the island of Kho Si Chang, It was moved to Dusit Hill in 1901 and, quite understandably, soon became King Rama V's favourite place, and was used as the royal residence between 1902 and 1906. It was closed down in 1935 and remained in this state until Queen Sirikit reopened it in 1982 as a museum to mark Bangkok's bicentennial celebration. With its European style, Wiman Mek Palace is built according to Thai tradition, using golden teak wood and not a single nail. Teak wood contains a special oil which makes it resistant to heat and heavy rains, and which also acts as an insect repellent. Amongst the possessions of Rama V on display is Thailand's first indoor bathroom and the oldest typewriter with Thai characters, as well as Thai ceramics, European furniture, precious China and lovely portras.
The other pavilions:
The Royal Carriage Museum contains carriages, mostly imported from Europe, which were very popular at the time of King Rama V. The small Suan Farang Kunsai Mansion has oil paintings and pictures of King Rama V and his family.
The Aphisek Dusit Throne Hall, built in a harmonious Euro - Thai style, has a display of handicrafts, including Thai famous MatMi silt; Malaeng Thap - collages made from metallic, multi - coloured beetle wings, damascene ware, nielloware and Yan Liphao basketry made by Queen Sikirit's Promotions & Related Techniques (SUPPORT) Foundation.
Anandhsamakhom Palace and the Parliament
The Palace was built in the reign of King Rama V using marble for construction in Italian Renaissance architectural style. King Rama V desired to use the Palace for receiving foreign dignitaries and meetings of the Royal Advisory Council for national development. The Palace was completed in the reign of King Rama VI. The ceiling of the dome was highlighted by exquisite fresco Paintings of important Royal functions during the reign of King Rama VI of the Royal House of Chakri.